The Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure

The Task

The availability of digital data plays an ever increasingly important role for intelligent mobility. With the information and communications infrastructure, mCLOUD (www.mcloud.de), the BMVI provides a data platform via which application developers, researchers or traffic planners can obtain open data without additional costs or restrictions of use. The mCLOUD is continuously further developed. The objective here is the creation of the maximum possible acceptance through the focussing on the actual user requirements – especially those of the open data community. Through this user-centred development and updating process it is intended that the continued use of the open data of the BMVI is promoted, the external effects are increased and the economic and innovative potential of open data is harnessed.

The Customer

The Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (abbreviated as BMVI) is a cabinet-level ministry of the Federal Republic of Germany. The ministry, together with its subordinate bodies, carries out the departmental tasks in those areas which affect the mobility of people, goods and data.

The responsibility covers the transport infrastructure of the Federation as well as the nation-wide availability of modern broadband networks. To the tasks of the BMVI belongs, amongst other things, the modernization of the mobility on the basis of intelligent transport systems.

www.bmvi.de

The Solution

For the most possible complete and correct recording of the user requirements, the BMVI uses the range of services of the User-Centred Design (UCD) from con terra GmbH. Through the fact-based, scientific approach, vague terms such as „User Experience“ or „Usability“ become intelligible, concrete and objective.

Together with the participants in interactive UCD workshops, more than 30 typical mCLOUD users were created and for some of them their specific objectives, tasks, problems and wishes were mapped. With these so-called personas in view, actual user stories could be derived out of which resulted the clear requirements for practical working with the mCLOUD.

The solution is based on

  • ISO-Norm 9241-210 which defines the user-centred design as an incremental iterative process with four steps
  • Interactive UCD workshops with stakeholders from companies, the administration and civil society
  • Personas and user stories as motivational tools

The Benefit

The results of the UCD workshop flow into the user-centred and sustainable further development of the mCLOUD as important decision aids. Through the involvement of the relevant players, maximum transparency and acceptance is created, entirely in line with the 1st National Action Plan within the framework of the Open Government Partnership.

Summary

  • mCLOUD is the information and communications infrastructure of the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure.
  • The mCLOUD should be sustainably and user-oriented developed further and expanded.
  • For this, the Federal Ministry uses the user-centred design from con terra.
  • Real users can actively take part in the further development in interactive workshops.
  • Personas and user stories are established tools and deliver easily understood results for use in further steps.
  • This method creates transparency for and acceptance by the actual users.

Thanks to the user-centred design from con terra, in exciting workshops we gained a thorough understanding of the actual users of the mCLOUD. In most cases the expectations of the participants were exceeded and the results convincing: Personas and user stories illustrate actual requirements and expectations. Despite the intensive work, the workshops were entertaining.

Dr. Roland Goetzke, Referat DG 25

Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur

BMVI Logo

Die Aufgabe

Die Verfügbarkeit digitaler Daten spielt für die intelligente Mobilität eine immer größere Rolle. Mit der Informations- und Kommunikations-Infrastruktur mCLOUD (www.mcloud.de) stellt das BMVI eine Datenplattform bereit, über die App-Entwickler, Forscher oder Verkehrsplaner offene Daten ohne weitere Kosten oder Nutzungseinschränkungen beziehen können.
Die mCLOUD wird kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt. Ziel hierbei ist die Schaffung größtmöglicher Akzeptanz durch eine Fokussierung auf die tatsächlichen Benutzeranforderungen – insbesondere die der Open Data Community. Durch diesen benutzerzentrierten Entwicklungs- und Fortschreibungsprozess soll die Nachnutzung der offenen Daten des BMVI gefördert, die Außenwirkung erhöht und das wirtschaftliche und innovative Potential von offenen Daten nutzbar gemacht werden.

Der Kunde

Das Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (kurz BMVI) ist eine Oberste Bundesbehörde der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Das Ministerium nimmt mit seinen nachgeordneten Behörden die Ressortaufgaben auf den Gebieten wahr, die die Mobilität von Personen, Gütern und Daten betreffen.

Die Zuständigkeit erstreckt sich auf die Verkehrsinfrastruktur des Bundes sowie auf die flächendeckende Verfügbarkeit moderner Breitbandnetze. Zu den Aufgaben des BMVI zählt unter anderem die Modernisierung der Mobilität auf Basis intelligenter Verkehrssysteme.

www.bmvi.de

Die Lösung

Um die Anforderungen der Benutzer möglichst vollständig und korrekt zu erfassen setzt das BMVI auf das Leistungsangebot User-Centered Design (UCD) der con terra GmbH. Durch das faktenbasierte wissenschaftliche Vorgehen werden vage Begriffe wie „User Experience“ oder „Usability“ verständlich, konkret und objektiv.

In interaktiven UCD-Workshops wurden mit den Teilnehmern mehr als 30 typische mCLOUD-Nutzer entworfen und für einige davon deren spezifischen Ziele, Aufgaben, Probleme und Wünsche skizziert. Mit diesen sogenannten Personas vor Augen konnten konkrete User Stories abgeleitet werden, aus denen sich klare Anforderungen an die praktische Arbeit mit der mCLOUD ergeben.

Die Lösung basiert auf

  • ISO-Norm 9241-210, die das User-Centered Design als inkrementell-iterativen Prozess mit vier Schritten definiert
  • Interaktiven UCD-Workshops mit Interessensvertretern aus Unternehmen, Verwaltung und Zivilgesellschaft
  • Personas und User Stories als motivierendes Werkzeug

Der Nutzen

Die Ergebnisse des UCD-Workshops fließen als wichtige Entscheidungshilfen in die nutzerzentrierte und nachhaltige Weiterentwicklung der mCLOUD ein. Durch die Einbeziehung der relevanten Akteure wird maximale Transparenz und Akzeptanz geschaffen, ganz im Sinne des 1. Nationalen Aktionsplans im Rahmen der Open Government Partnership.

Zusammenfassung

  • Die mCLOUD ist die Informations- und Kommunikations-Infrastruktur des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur.
  • Die mCLOUD soll nachhaltig und benutzerorientiert weiterentwickelt und ausgebaut werden.
  • Das Bundesministerium setzt dazu auf das User-Centered Design von con terra.
  • Echte Anwender können sich in interaktiven Workshops aktiv an der Weiterentwicklung beteiligen.
  • Personas und User Stories sind etablierte Werkzeuge und liefern leicht verständliche Ergebnisse zur Nutzung in weiteren Schritten.
  • Diese Methode schafft Transparenz und Akzeptanz bei den tatsächlichen Anwendern.

Durch das User-Centered Design von con terra gewannen wir in spannenden Workshops ein genaues Verständnis über die tatsächlichen Anwender der mCLOUD. Die Erwartungen der Teilnehmer wurden dabei meist übertroffen und die Ergebnisse überzeugen: Personas und User Stories veranschaulichen konkrete Anforderungen und Erwartungen. Trotz der intensiven Arbeit waren die Workshops kurzweilig.

Dr. Roland Goetzke, Referat DG 25