EUMETSAT

The Challenge

EUMETSAT has a highly extensive range of satellite data at its disposal, which until now was only accessible via several different systems, each of which had its own interface. The task performed by con terra comprised rendering this data accessible to potential users through a clearing house in a web-based Earth Observation Portal (EO Portal). The objective was to create a service-oriented architecture which incorporated the existing applications, encapsulated as web services, with a uniform safety concept based on standards. The data had to be described by standardised ISO metadata, discoverable by appropriate search clients, and be accessible via the special provision mechanisms described in the metadata.

The Customer

Eumetsat 

EUMETSAT is an intergovernmental organisation currently comprising 26 European member states and five cooperating states. Its main objective is to provide inexpensive operational satellite data and derived services and products. The organisation’s central headquarters are in Darmstadt, Germany. 

EUMETSAT currently operates the geostationary satellites Meteosat 8 and 9 over Europe and Africa as well as Meteosat 6 and 7, over the Indian Ocean. Metop-A, Europe’s first polarorbiting satellite, was launched in October 2006, and has been supplying operational data since May 15, 2007.

The data, products and services transmitted by EUMETSAT’s satellites play a major role in weather forecasting and monitoring the global climate.

www.eumetsat.int

The Solution

The EO Portal Project began with the draft phase for the software architecture, which was conducted by con terra GmbH in close cooperation with EUMETSAT.
The existing systems were encapsulated for the solution, given a uniform safety concept (based on ESA/HMA-compliant federated identity and user management) and integrated as a clearing house through an enterprise service bus. The data was described by way of an ISO19115-2-extended metadata model, and collected and rendered searchable by the sdi.suite terraCatalog. The clearing house also offers OGC, ESA, WMO and INSPIRE-compliant software interfaces for data searching and ordering.

Technology Used

  • SOA – service-oriented architecture
  • Web Catalogue Service for Spatial Data Infrastructures

Benefits

The EO Portal provides online access to EUMETSAT data and services. It contains an interface with which users can search for these and obtain extensive information. From the data descriptions, users are also able to access services through which they can order data or arrange a regular, automatic data delivery. The user only needs to register once with the portal and to log on once (single sign-on).

The WMS and WCS services currently under development will soon allow data to be supplied in the form of standardised OGC web-mapping and web-coverage services, through which the data will be directly usable online.

Summary

  • Central portal for accessing EUMETSAT data
  • Clearing house solution with single sign-on access for users
  • Metadata-supported input and search mechanism
  • Data directly usable online via WMS and WCS services

Outlook

The next development stage will not only allow users and machines to benefit from the automatic provision of EUMETSAT data in the form of standardised web services but also to incorporate clearing house data and services from partner agencies, e.g. the French aerospace agency (CNES) or the German aerospace agency (DLR) in the search, possibly including ordering and registration.

Customer comment

"The EUMETSAT EO portal was designed, developed and implemented in a short space of time, thanks to con terra’s competence in the field of SOA in general and geo-services (especially with regard to OGC interfaces) in particular.
EUMETSAT services can now be accessed by end users more simply and consistently than before.
Interoperability is an essential factor for the future when it comes to implementing rapid data exchange."

Michael Schick
EUMETSAT

Earth Observation Portal

(c) Eumetsat

Die Aufgabe

EUMETSAT verfügt über einen sehr umfangreichen Bestand von Satellitendaten, der bisher nur über verschiedene Alt-Systeme mit jeweils eigenen Schnittstellen erschlossen werden konnte. Die Aufgabe der con terra bestand darin, diese Daten mittels Clearinghouse in einem web-basierten Earth Observation Portal (EO Portal) dem potentiellen Nutzer zugänglich zu machen. Grundlage sollte eine serviceorientierte Architektur sein, in der die als Web-Services gekapselten - und mit einem einheitlichen, auf Standards basierenden Sicherheitskonzept versehenen - Alt-Anwendungen integriert sind. Die Daten sollen mittels standardisierter ISOMetadaten beschrieben werden, mit entsprechenden Suchklienten auffindbar sein und über die in den Metadaten beschriebenen speziellen Bereitstellungsmechanismen zugreifbar gemacht werden.

Der Kunde

Eumetsat

EUMETSAT ist eine zwischenstaatliche Organisation aus derzeit 26 europäischen Mitgliedsstaaten und 5 Kooperationsstaaten, deren Hauptaufgabe in der kostengünstigen Bereitstellung operationeller Satellitendaten und daraus abgeleiteter Dienstleistungen und Produkte besteht. Der Hauptsitz von EUMETSAT befindet sich in Darmstadt, Deutschland.

EUMETSAT betreibt gegenwärtig die geostationären Satelliten Meteosat-8 und -9 über Europa und Afrika sowie Meteosat-6 und -7 über dem Indischen Ozean.
Metop-A, Europas erster polarumlaufender Satellit, wurde im Oktober 2006 gestartet und liefert seit dem 15. Mai 2007 operationelle Daten.

Die Daten, Produkte und Dienste von den Satelliten von EUMETSAT leisten einen bedeutenden Beitrag für die Wettervorhersage und für die Überwachung des globalen Klimas.

www.eumetsat.int

Die Lösung

Das EO Portal Projekt startete mit einer Entwurfsphase für die Software-Architektur, die von der con terra GmbH in enger Kooperation mit EUMETSAT durchgeführt wurde.
Für die Lösung wurden die Alt-Systeme als Web-Services gekapselt, mit einem einheitlichen Sicherheitskonzept (auf Basis des ESA/HMA-konformen föderierten Identitäts- und UserManagements) versehen und über einen Enterprise Service Bus als Clearinghouse integriert. Die Daten wurden mittels eines ISO19115-2 erweiterten Metadatenmodells beschrieben und über den sdi.suite terraCatalog erfasst und recherchierbar gemacht. Das Clearinghouse bietet auch die OGC-, ESA-, WMO- und INSPIREkonformen Software-Schnittstellen zur Datenrecherche und Datenbestellung.

Verwendete Technologie

  • SOA – Serviceorientierte Architektur
  • terraCatalog (vgl. smart.finder SDI)

Der Nutzen

Das EO Portal bietet einen Online Zugang zu EUMETSAT Daten und Diensten. Es ermöglicht dem Benutzer über eine entsprechende Benutzerschnittstelle nach diesen zu suchen und umfangreiche Informationen zu erhalten. Zudem besteht die Möglichkeit, aus den Datenbeschreibungen heraus auf Dienste zuzugreifen, die eine Bestellung der Daten oder eine automatisierte regelmäßige Datenlieferung ermöglichen. Hierzu ist für den Nutzer nur noch eine einzige Registrierung am Portal und ein einziges Login (Single Sign-On) erforderlich.

Die in der Entwicklung befindlichen WMS- und WCS-Dienste erlauben in Kürze die Bereitstellung der Daten in Form standardisierter OGC Web-Mapping- und Web-Coverage-Dienste, über die eine direkte Online-Nutzung der Daten ermöglicht wird.

Zusammenfassung

  • Zentrales Portal für den Zugang zu EUMETSAT Daten
  • Clearinghouse-Lösung mit Single-Sign-On Zugang für den Nutzer
  • Metadaten-gestützte Eingabe- und Recherchemöglichkeit
  • In Kürze: direkte Online-Nutzung der Daten über WMS- undWCS-Dienste

Ausblick

Die nächste Ausbaustufe soll den Nutzern und Maschinen neben der automatischen Bereitstellung der EUMETSAT Daten in Form standardisierter Web-Services ermöglichen, über das Clearinghouse Daten und Dienste auch von Partner Agencies (z.B. der französischen Luft- und Raumfahrtbehörde (CNES) oder deutschen Luft- und Raumfahrtbehörde (DLR) in die Suche und evtl. die Bestellung und Registrierung mit einzubeziehen.

"Die Konzeption und Entwicklung des EUMETSAT EO Portals konnte durch die Kompetenz der con terra im Bereich von SOA im Allgemeinen und Geo Diensten (insbesondere OGC Schnittstellen) im Speziellen in kurzer Zeit entworfen und implementiert werden. Die Benutzung der EUMETSAT Dienste wird für Endanwender vereinfacht und vereinheitlicht. Interoperabilität ist zwingend notwendig für einen schnellen Datenaustausch in der Zukunft."

Michael Schick
EUMETSAT