R+V Cumulative Claims Management System

R+V

Assignment

In insurance, cumulative claims are said to occur when several units covered by the same insurer are affected by a single loss event. Cumulative losses are frequently caused by natural disasters such as storms (e.g. Kyrill) or hail. Handling cumulative losses represents a considerable challenge to claims management teams in insurance organisations. It is for this reason that a geo-based solution for controlling cumulative claims was devised for R+V Versicherung, to give employees in the claims management department a GIS-aided method of modelling cumulative events and assessing the plausibility of incoming claims in an efficient and cost-optimised process.

Customer

R+V Versicherung is one of the largest insurance companies in Germany and belongs to the Genossenschaftliche FinanzGruppe Volksbanken Raiffeisenbanken. R+V Versicherung is characterised by its high risk-bearing capacity and has for many years been growing more strongly than the industry.

More than eight million customers in Germany trust in the services of the Wiesbaden insurer, with more than 24 million insurance policies. As a composite insurer, R+V provides specific solutions for both private customers and industrial, retail, commercial and agricultural organisations.

www.ruv.de

Solution

The solution devised by con terra for controlling cumulative claims enables employees in the claims management department at R+V Versicherung to record and manage cumulative events interactively. The solution is based on ArcGIS technology from Esri. A central Enterprise Geodatabase is employed for data management, on the basis of a Microsoft SQL Server data-base.

Moreover, the solution comprises processes and interfaces that both transfer verified cumulative events into the central R+V Versicherung claims management system (DB2) and forward weather-relevant loss notifications from the claims management system as GIS data to the central Enterprise Geodatabase. The implementation and automated execution of the data transmis-sion processes take place on the basis of FME spatial ETL technology.

Technology

  • ArcGIS for Desktop
  • ArcGIS for Server Basic Enterprise
  • ArcGIS Online
  • FME Desktop
  • FME Server
  • Microsoft SQL Server
  • DB2 for z/OS

Benefits

The cumulative control solution gives employees in the claims management department at R+V a way of quickly discerning the occurrence of a cumulative situation, allowing it to respond accordingly. It is now able to visualise and analyse incoming claims with GIS support, on the basis of weather-relevant loss notifications transferred to the Enterprise Geodatabase. This allows a rapid assessment of the situation and supports short-term decision making.

Cumulative events can now be quickly and simply modelled and fed into the claims system. This makes it possible to assess the plausibility of incoming claims in an efficient and cost-optimised process. The implementation of the solution is based on a fully configurative approach. Future updates of the standard software components employed can therefore be performed with minimal effort. This ensures the solution‘s sustainability. Moreover, the GIS in-frastructure incorporated in the system is so flexible that it is a simple matter to integrate further application scenarios in the solution.
„The cumulative claims management system allows us to make a rapid assessment of a cumulative loss situation and enables us to react in the short term to new loss situations.“

Stefan Lühr, composite claims

R+V Kumul-Management-System

hochwasser

R+V

Die Aufgabe

Von Kumul spricht man im Versicherungswesen, wenn mehrere beim gleichen Versicherer versicherte Einheiten durch ein einziges Schadenereignis betroffen sein können. Häufig sind Naturgewalten, wie Sturm (z.B. Kyrill) oder Hagel, die Ursache für Kumul-Schäden. Die Bewältigung von Kumul-Schäden stellt eine große Herausforderung für das Schadenmanagement der Versicherer dar. Mit einer geobasierten Lösung zur Kumul-Steuerung sollen Mitarbeiter im Schadenmanagement der R+V Versicherung die Möglichkeit erhalten, Kumul-Ereignisse GIS-gestützt zu modellieren und eingehende Schäden hoch effizient und kostenoptimiert zu plausibilisieren.

Der Kunde

Die R+V Versicherung ist einer der größten Versicherer Deutschlands und gehört zur Genossenschaftlichen FinanzGruppe Volksbanken Raiffeisenbanken. Seit vielen Jahren wächst die R+V Versicherung stärker als die Branche und zeichnet sich durch hohe Risikotragfähigkeit aus.

Über 8 Millionen Kunden in Deutschland mit rund 24 Millionen Versicherungsverträgen vertrauen den Leistungen der Wiesbadener Versicherung. Als Universalversicherer bietet R+V sowohl für Privatkunden als auch für Unternehmen aus Industrie, Handel, Gewerbe und Landwirtschaft spezielle Lösungen an.

www.ruv.de

Die Lösung

Die von con terra geschaffene Lösung zur Steuerung von Kumulschäden erlaubt den Mitarbeitern des Schadenmanagements der R+V Versicherung Kumul-Ereignisse interaktiv zu erfassen und zu verwalten. Die Lösung basiert auf der ArcGIS Technologie von Esri. Zur Verwaltung der Daten wird eine zentrale Enterprise Geodatabase auf Basis einer Microsoft SQL Server Datenbank genutzt.  

Zusätzlich umfasst die Lösung Prozesse und Schnittstellen, die zum einen bestätigte Kumul-Ereignisse in das zentrale Schadenmanagementsystem (DB2) der R+V Versicherung übertragen und zum anderen wetterrelevante Schadenmeldungen aus dem Schadenmanagementsystem als GIS-Daten in die zentrale Enterprise Geodatabase überführen. Die Implementierung und automatisierte Ausführung der Prozesse zur Datenübertragung erfolgt auf Basis der Spatial ETL-Technologie FME.

Die Lösung basiert auf

  • ArcGIS for Desktop
  • ArcGIS for Server Basic Enterprise
  • ArcGIS Online
  • FME Desktop
  • FME Server
  • Microsoft SQL Server
  • DB2 for z/OS

Der Nutzen

Mit der Lösung zur Kumul-Steuerung haben die Mitarbeiter im Schadenmanagement der R+V Versicherung die Möglichkeit, eine eingetretene Kumul-Situation schnell zu erkennen und darauf zu reagieren. Auf Grundlage der in die Enterprise Geodatabase überführten wetterrelevanten Schäden ist erstmalig eine GIS-gestützte Visualisierung und Analyse der eingehenden Schadenmeldungen möglich. Dies erlaubt eine schnelle Einschätzung der Situation und ermöglicht eine kurzfristige Entscheidungsfindung.

Kumul-Ereignisse lassen sich jetzt schnell und einfach modellieren und in das Schadensystem übertragen. Dadurch können eingehende Schäden effizient und kostenoptimiert plausibilisiert werden. Die Umsetzung der Lösung basiert auf einem vollständig konfigurativem Ansatz. Zukünftige Aktualisierungen der verwendeten Standardsoftwarekomponenten können somit mit geringem Aufwand durchgeführt werden. Dadurch ist die Nachhaltigkeit der Lösung gesichert. Darüber hinaus ist die aufgebauten GIS-Infrastruktur so flexibel, dass weitere Anwendungsszenarien einfach mit in die Lösung aufgenommen werden können.

 

arcgis

 

Kundenkommentar

"Das Kumul-Management-System erlaubt uns im Kumulfall eine schnelle Einschätzung der Situation und ermöglicht uns, kurzfristig auf neue Schadensituationen zu reagieren.“

Stefan Lühr, Komposit-Schaden, R+V Versicherung