Digital Service File

ray|fotolia.com

The Challenge

The politically determined adjustment process facing the German coal mining industry will result in the gradual loss of more and more personnel, and, in turn, valuable knowledge, over the next few years. In order to ensure that this knowledge is preserved and to strengthen the process of knowledge transfer and the ability of the group to supply information, it requested the development of an information and integration platform for all of the spatial data within the RAG organisation.

RAG currently manages approximately 40 terabytes of digital spatial data. In addition to this, it has around eight kilometres of files, which are to be digitised and incorporated in the data as and when required in the future. Besides conventional GIS information, there are many documents and files that contain one or several spatial references in text form (e.g. the address or name of a shaft). The aim is for the platform to be able to provide this data throughout all areas and departments of the organisation, comprehensively and at high performance, to enable any future spatially related queries to be duly responded to.

The Customer

The core business of the RAG Aktiengesellschaft is the extraction of coal in Germany. The group comprises several companies with a total of 18,000 employees and a turnover of approximately 3 billion euros.

The coal mines it maintains make the group one of the biggest contractors and employers in the country’s mining regions. In addition to coal mining, the organisation plays a central role in the process of structural transformation, by making former mining areas available for other uses. The mining infrastructure is also being increasingly used for implementing projects and concepts in the field of renewable energy generation. 

RAG has been routinely employing spatial-information technology for more than twenty years to support its planning and decision-making processes.

www.rag.de

The Solution

The ‘Digitale Service Akte’ (D S A) is the RAG intranet portal designed for the long-time utilisation of spatial data and other data sources. It combines the functionalities of modern map services for spatial analysis and map visualisation with the possibilities of full text search services, in a variety of text containers throughout the departments of the organisation. In addition to GIS and CAD data, other sources, such as office documents, ELO (electronic archives) or SAP (properties and subsidence damage) are also searched as part of a query. The D S A was realised as a web application in the RAG intranet and is based on existing GIS and search technology (ArcGIS/MOSS), taking into account existing authorisation concepts, which means it is available for use by all employees throughout the group.

Technology Used

  • Service-oriented architecture (SOA)
  • ArcGIS Server
  • Microsoft Office SharePoint Server (MOSS)
  • SAP (FX and PM modules)
  • Document management system (ELO)
  • IIS web services for indexing and searching on the basis of
  • .Net, WCF and C#
  • Application development with Silverlight and C#

Benefits

The D S A provides structured access to very extensive, heterogeneous, distributed data. The datasets largely retain their present form and responsibility structure. All data sources incorporated in the system can be searched, filtered and integrated using keywords (full text searching) and spatial criteria (GeoNames function). The search results are presented to the user in the GUI of the D S A in the form of map visualisations and hit lists.

Project Partners

The following companies contributed to the project’s success, along with the clients of the RAG Aktiengesellschaft: arvato systems GmbH (Dortmund), Atos IT-Dienstleistung und Beratung GmbH (Gelsenkirchen), con terra GmbH (Münster) and Esri Deutschland GmbH (Kranzberg).

Summary

  • Information and integration platform for data with spatial references
  • Structured access to extensive, heterogeneous data
  • Data held non-centrally, integrated by means of spatial referencing
  • Loading/activation of third-party systems possible
  • Creates transparency and secure access to existing information
  • Secures the availability of information in the future

Customer comment

“The Digital Service File is exciting because of its rapid search service in the various filing and working systems and the speed with which it is able to display all the available RAG map services.” 

Ralf van der Heyden
Project manager, Licensing procedures, RAG Aktiengesellschaft

Digitale Service-Akte

(c) ray|fotolia.com

Die Aufgabe

Aufgrund des politisch vorgegebenen Anpassungsprozesses des deutschen Steinkohlenbergbaus wird in den nächsten Jahren mehr und mehr Personal und damit wertvolles Wissen verloren gehen. Um die Know-How-Sicherung zu gewährleisten, den Wissenstransfer zu stärken und die Auskunftsfähigkeit des Unternehmens sicher zu stellen, sollte eine Informations- und Integrationsplattform für alle raumbezogenen Daten der RAG entwickelt werden.

Derzeit verwaltet RAG einen Bestand von ca. 40 Terabyte digitalen Daten mit Raumbezug. Hinzu kommen ca. 8 km Akten, die zukünftig bei Bedarf zu digitalisieren und integrieren sind. Neben den klassischen GIS-Daten sind viele Dokumente und Dateien vorhanden, die einen oder mehrere räumliche Bezüge in Textform (z.B. Adresse oder Name eines Schachtes) beinhalten. Die Plattform soll für zukünftige raumbezogene Fragestellungen diese Daten fach- und organisationsübergreifend performant und umfassend bereitstellen.

Der Kunde

RAG 

Das Kerngeschäft der RAG Aktiengesellschaft ist die Förderung deutscher Steinkohle. Unter ihrem Dach bündeln sich Unternehmen mit 18.000 Mitarbeitern und einem Umsatz von rund 3 Milliarden Euro.

Mit seinen Bergwerken ist das Unternehmen wichtiger Auftrag- und Arbeitgeber in den Bergbauregionen. Neben der Steinkohleförderung leistet das Unternehmen mit der zur Verfügungstellung ehemaliger Bergbauflächen und entsprechender Nutzungskonzepte einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Strukturwandel. Zunehmend wird bergbauliche Infrastruktur auch für Projekte und Ideen für die Gewinnung Erneuerbarer Energie genutzt.

Zur Unterstützung von Planungs- und Entscheidungsprozessen setzt die RAG bereits seit über 20 Jahren Geoinformationstechnologie als integralen Bestandteil ein.

www.rag.de

Die Lösung

Die Digitale Service-Akte (D S A) ist das Intranet-Portal der RAG für die langfristige Nutzung von Geodaten und weiterer Datenquellen. Sie verbindet die Funktionalitäten moderner Kartendienste zur räumlichen Analyse und Kartendarstellung mit den Möglichkeiten von Suchdiensten zur Volltextsuche in verschiedenen Datencontainern der Fachbereiche. Neben GISoder CAD-Daten werden auch weitere Quellen, wie z.B. Office-Dokumente, ELO (elektronische Archive) oder SAP (Liegenschaften und Bergschäden) innerhalb einer Abfrage durchsucht. Die D S A steht allen Mitarbeitern im Konzern zur Verfügung, da sie als Web-Anwendung im Intranet der RAG auf Basis vorhandener GIS- und Suchtechnologie (ArcGIS / MOSS) und unter Beachtung bereits bestehender Berechtigungskonzepte realisiert wurde.

Verwendete Technologie

  • Service Orientierter Architektur (SOA)
  • ArcGIS Server
  • Microsoft Office SharePoint Server (MOSS)
  • SAP (Module FX und PM)
  • Dokumentenmanagementsystem (ELO)
  • IIS Webservices zur Indizierung und Suche auf Basis von Net, WCF und C#
  • Anwendungsentwicklung mit Silverlight und C#

Der Nutzen

Die D S A schafft den strukturierten Zugriff auf sehr umfangreiche, heterogene und verteilte Daten. Dabei bleiben die bisherigen Datenbestände weitestgehend in ihrer heutigen Form und Zuständigkeit bestehen. Alle eingebundenen Datenquellen lassen sich nach Stichworten (Volltextsuche) und räumlichen Kriterien (GeoNames-Funktion) durchsuchen, filtern und integrieren. Die Suchergebnisse werden dem Anwender im GUI der D S A in Form von Kartendarstellung und Ergebnislisten präsentiert.

Der Nutzen

Gemeinsam mit den Auftraggebern der RAG Aktiengesellschaft haben die folgenden Unternehmen zum Gelingen des Projektes  beigetragen: arvato systems GmbH (Dortmund), Atos ITDienstleistung und Beratung GmbH (Gelsenkirchen), con terra GmbH (Münster) und Esri Deutschland GmbH (Kranzberg).

Zusammenfassung

  • Informations- und Integrationsplattform für Daten mit Raumbezug.
  • Strukturierter Zugriff auf umfangreiche und heterogene Daten.
  • Dezentrale Datenhaltung, Integration über den Raumbezug.
  • Aufruf/Ansteuerung von Drittsystemen möglich.
  • Schaffung von Transparenz und sicherem Zugriff auf vorhandene Informationen.
  • Sicherung der Auskunftsfähigkeit in der Zukunft.

Kundenmeinung

„Die Digitale Service-Akte begeistert insbesondere durch den schnellen Suchdienst in den verschiedenen Ablage- und Arbeitssystemen sowie die schnellste Darstellungsmöglichkeit aller bei RAG verfügbaren Kartendienste.“

 

Ralf van der Heyden
Projektleiter Genehmigungsverfahren RAG Aktiengesellschaft