ERGO GIS Assistance

jojo|pfotocase.de

The Challenge

 ERGO GIS assistance shall enable assistance-cover staff to quickly and comprehensively support their clients in the case of a claim. The various applications include, for instance, commissioning an appropriate breakdown service, planning larger tow-journeys, and planning travel routes considering all kinds of parameters.

 

The Customer

ERGO is one of the largest insurance groups in Germany and Europe, with 50.000 employees and distributors. With experts in various business areas, the group offers its clients a comprehensive spectrum of insurances, precautionary measures and services.

ITERGO is the main IT-contractor for ERGO. It develops and implements ITstrategies and service concepts for national and international markets, and ensures that ERGO constantly operates with state of the art information technology. The ITERGO branches in Germany are located in Düsseldorf, Hamburg, Köln and München. With around 1.400 employees, ITERGO realizes innovative application systems for the ERGO group, provides hardware and system related software, and ensures its trouble-free operation.

www.itergo.com

The Solution

ITERGO has established a powerful, company-wide GIS-platform, which serves as the basis for the processing of spatial data, based on the technologies of ESRI’s ArcGIS Desktop and ArcGIS Server, and on the „geodata-hub“ FME. The access to and storage of geodata is based on the ArcGIS Server integrated technology ArcSDE, which provides the interface to the implemented Microsoft SQL-Server database-system. The actual assistance webapplication is based on Silverlight-Technology, and builds on the described GIS-platform. While the GIS-platform provides commodity specific data about ArcGIS Server services for the web application, Microsoft Bing Maps services are utilized for the provision of base maps, and for the address search and route calculation functions. These services are characterized by high data availability and currency.

Technology Used

  • Esri ArcGIS Server 10: Data management (ArcSDE technology) and core services
  • Esri ArcGIS Desktop 10: GIS-base-functions
  • FME Esri Edition: Fully integrated solution for creating and conflating complex data-streams
  • Microsoft SQL Server Datenbank: Data storage
  • Silverlight: Application development

Benefits

The ERGO GIS assistance solution enables assistance-cover staff to quickly and comprehensively support their clients in the case of a claim.

The web-application ERGO GIS Assistance provides various search functions, for precisely determining a client‘s location. These include, for instance, address search, searching for motorway kilometrage and way points along a route, and searching for Points of Interest (POI). An integrated intelligent route planner enables the calculation of towing routes, or serves for planning the further travel route. This allows the determination of a suitable roadside assistance service in the case of a claim, and an optimal tow-drive to the nearest garage and to the client‘s residence, based on the breakdown location. 

The client’s location also serves as the basis for perimeter searches for freely configurable POI-topics. This allows features such as hotels, petrol stations or restaurants in the client’s vicinity to be determined, for which appropriate routes can then be planned.

Summary

  • Stable and secure assistance solution, providing comprehensive support on demand.
  • Various possibilities of exactly localising clients.
  • Time-optimized support through intelligent navigation.
  • Location specific searches for freely configurable topics.
  • Based on ArcGIS technology, provided by the world-leader in geo-information systems ESRI.

Customer comment

"In a very short project duration, the project team was successful in creating a technically innovative, central, web-based geo-information system (ERGOGIS). ERGOGIS runs very stably, is easily handled, and intuitively operated, qualities which were received very positively by the 24h emergency services / motor claims services. Further expansion in other fields besides the „assistance-solution“ are conceivable and technically viable."

Christian Haasz
Project Manager, Projects Contract Processes, ITERGO

ERGO GIS Assistance

(c) jojo|photocase.de

Die Aufgabe

Mit ERGOGIS Assistance soll den Mitarbeitern im Schutzbriefschaden-Service die Möglichkeit gegeben werden, Kunden im Schadensfall schnell und umfassend zu unterstützen. Die verschiedenen Anwendungsfälle umfassen unter anderem die Beauftragung eines geeigneten Pannendienstes, die Planung längerer Schleppfahrten oder die Planung von Reiserouten unter Einbeziehung verschiedenster Parameter.

Der Kunde

 ITERGO

Die ITERGO ist der zentrale IT - Dienstleister der ERGO . Sie entwickelt und implementiert IT - Strategien und Dienstleistungskonzepte für das In - und Ausland und sorgt so dafür, dass ERGO ständig mit dem neuesten Stand der Informationstechnologie arbeitet. In Deutschland arbeitet die ITERGO an den Standorten Düsseldorf, Hamburg, Köln und München. Mit rund 1.400 Mitarbeiter realisiert ITERGO innovative Anwendungssysteme für die Gruppe, stellt Hardware und systemnahe Software bereit und gewährleistet ihren störungsfreien Betrieb.

Die Lösung

Auf Basis der Technologien ArcGIS Desktop und ArcGIS Server von Esri sowie der „Geodatendrehscheibe“ FME konnte bei ITERGO eine unternehmensweite, leistungsfähige GIS-Plattform etabliert werden, die als Basis für die Verarbeitung raumbezogener Daten dient. Der Zugriff und die Ablage der Geodaten erfolgt über die in ArcGIS Server integrierte ArcSDE-Technologie. Sie bildet die Schnittstelle zum vorliegenden Microsoft SQL-Server Datenbanksystem. Die eigentliche Assistance-Webanwendung basiert auf der Silverlight-Technologie und setzt auf der beschriebenen GIS-Plattform auf. Während die GIS-Plattform die Fachdaten über ArcGIS Server Dienste für die Webanwendung bereitstellt, werden für die Adresssuche, die Routenberechnung und die Basiskarten die Dienste von Microsoft Bing Maps verwendet. Diese Dienste zeichnen sich durch eine hohe Verfügbarkeit wie auch hohe Aktualität der Daten aus.

Verwendete Technologie

  • Esri ArcGIS Server 10: Datenmanagement (ArcSDE Technologie) und Kerndienste
  • Esri ArcGIS Desktop 10:Basis-GIS-Funktionen
  • FME Esri Edition: Voll integrierte Lösung zum Erstellen und Zusammenführung von komplexen Datenströmen
  • Microsoft SQL Server Datenbank: Datenhaltung
  • Silverlight: Applikationsentwicklung

Der Nutzen

Mit der ERGO GIS Assistance Lösung ist es den Mitarbeitern im Schutzbriefschaden-Service möglich, Kunden im Schadensfall schnell und umfassend zu helfen.

Über die Webanwendung ERGO GIS Assistance stehen unterschiedliche Suchfunktionalitäten zur Verfügung, um den Standort eines Kunden genau zu ermitteln. Diese beinhalten unter anderem eine Adresssuche, eine Suche nach Autobahnkilometern und Streckenpunkten, sowie eine Suche nach Points of Interest (POI).Ein integrierter, intelligenter Routenplaner erlaubt die Berechnung von Abschlepprouten oder dient der weiteren Reiseroutenplanung. Ausgehend vom Standort kann somit im Schadensfall ein geeigneter Pannendienst und die für den Kunden optimale Schleppfahrt zur Werkstatt bis hin zum Wohnort ermittelt werden. Der Standort eines Kunden dient ebenfalls als Ausgangspunkt für Umkreissuchen nach frei konfigurierbaren POI-Themen. So können z.B. Hotels, Tankstellen oder Restaurants in der Umgebung des Kunden ermittelt und eine Routenplanung zu diesen Treffern durchgeführt werden.

Zusammenfassung

  • Stabile und schnelle Assistance-Lösung, die bei Bedarf umfassend unterstützt.
  • Unterschiedliche Möglichkeiten zur exakten Lokalisierung der Kunden.
  • Zeitoptimierte Hilfe dank intelligenter Navigation.
  • Standortbezogene Suche nach frei konfigurierbaren Themen.
  • ArcGIS Technologie des Weltmarktführers für Geoinformationssysteme Esri als Basis.

Kundenmeinung

„Innerhalb einer sehr kurzen Projektlaufzeit (04-12.2011) ist es dem gesamten Projektteam gelungen, ein technisch innovatives, zentrales, webbasiertes Geoinformationssystem zu entwickeln (ERGOGIS). ERGOGIS läuft sehr stabil, ist einfach zu handhaben und intuitiv bedienbar, was im 24h Notruf / Kfz-Schadenbearbeitung sehr positiv aufgenommen wurde. Weitere Ausbaustufen in anderen Bereichen neben der Assistance-Lösung sind denkbar und technisch umsetzbar.“

Christian Haasz
ITERGO Informationstechnologie GmbH