FGIS_online - Forest Web GIS

Assignments

The task was to develop the web-based geographical forestry information system FGIS_online into a modern and efficient Web GIS platform. The aim was to support specific specialist tasks through the platform by creating appropriately focused apps. These apps would then be capable of applying existing Sachsenforst services and services from the SDI Saxony in a variety of specialist application cases.

 

Customer

Sachsenforst (the Saxony state forestry service) is the agency responsible for forests in the state of Saxony. Distributed throughout the state, its 1,600 employees in the forest regions manage the Saxony state forest and provide advice and support for private and corporate forest owners. Sachsenforst is responsible for around 200,000 ha of state forest land and also looks after approximately 50,000 ha of forest under local government and corporate ownership.

As the upper forestry and hunting authority, the state forestry service is also responsible for land-use management in the major conservation areas in Saxony. These are:
•    Saxon Switzerland national park region,
•    Upper Lausitz Heath and Pond Landscape biosphere reserve,
•    Königsbrück Heath conservation areas,
•    Gohrisch Heath and Zeithain Lower Elbe Terrace.

In these regions, Sachsenforst is the specialist conservation agency responsible for large conservation areas.

www.sachsenforst.de

Solution

The new web GIS platform FGIS_online was implemented on the basis of con terra's map.apps technology. The apps created on the platform offer not only standard functions such as spatial data visualisation, map printout and data searching but also extended functions within the SDI Saxony, such as:
  • Linking to the central user manager (ADS)
  • Realisation of a central map catalogue
  • Provision of hierarchically structured name directories
  • Realisation of a land area directory linked to the central attribute information system
  • Collecting and editing relevant spatial information
  • Flexible and central configuration of information and recording layers

The solution is based on

  • map.apps
  • map.apps SDI
  • security.manager

Benefits

The web GIS platform FGIS_online operated by the Sachsenforst state forestry service enables the efficient implementation of specialist apps for supporting employees in forestry and hunting areas, people involved in state forestry service management, as well as ministry employees, in performing their forestry-related activities, work procedures, and decision-making processes.

The first apps have already been developed on the new platform: a general web GIS app has been successfully deployed as the successor to the previous system. Moreover, the introduction of a new liming planning app has already resulted in a significant reduction in workloads.

The Sachsenforst state forestry service has created a future-proof solution in the form of the web GIS platform FGIS_online, which enables it to employ modern approaches to app creation and service orientation for its own purposes.

Functions

  • Searching for and visualising data with relevance to forestry
  • Provision and printouts of maps
  • Rapid location of spatial forestry objects with the aid of name directories
  • Integrated user management
  • State-wide recording of specialist forestry-related themes
  • Querying of inventory information from the operational database
  • Addition of further map services

Summary

The web GIS platform FGIS_online is designed to enable the efficient creation of appropriately focused apps for supporting the tasks of the Sachsenforst state forestry service. Thanks to the underlying map.apps technology, it offers a maximum degree of future orientation. The first apps have already resulted in a significant decrease in workload.

 

Testimonial

"The flexibility of the new web GIS platform FGIS_online has already sustainably proven itself. Both the liming app and the web GIS app have been implemented and put into operation quickly and efficiently."

Beate Graichen

Staatsbetrieb Sachsenforst

FGIS_online

fgis_w

Die Aufgabe

Aufgabe war die Weiterentwicklung des webbasierten Forstlich-Geografischen InformationsSystems FGIS_online in Richtung einer modernen und effizient nutzbaren Web GIS Plattform. Ziel ist es, über diese Plattform spezifische fachliche Aufgaben durch die Erstellung fokussierter Apps zu unterstützen. Die zu erstellenden Apps sollen die Möglichkeit besitzen, sowohl bestehende Dienste von Sachsenforst als auch Dienste der GDI Sachsen in unterschiedlichen fachlichen Anwendungsfällen zu nutzen.

Der Kunde

Der Staatsbetrieb Sachsenforst ist zuständig für den Wald in Sachsen. Flächendeckend verteilt, kümmern sich die rund 1.600 Mitarbeiter in den Forstbezirken um die Beratung und Betreuung privater und körperschaftlicher Waldbesitzer sowie die Bewirtschaftung des sächsischen Staatswaldes. Sachsenforst ist verantwortlich für rund 200.000 ha Landeswald und betreut gleichzeitig rund 50.000 ha Kommunal- und Körperschaftswald.

Als obere Forst- und Jagdbehörde ist der Staatsbetrieb ebenfalls für das Flächenmanagement der bedeutendsten Schutzgebiete in Sachsen zuständig:
  •      Nationalparkregion Sächsische Schweiz,
  •      Biosphärenreservat Oberlausitzer Heide- und Teichlandschaft,
  •      Naturschutzgebiete Königsbrücker Heide,
  •      Gohrischheide und Elbniederterrasse Zeithain.
In diesen Gebieten ist Sachsenforst als Amt für Großschutzgebiete die zuständige Naturschutzfachbehörde.

www.sachsenforst.de

Die Lösung

Die neue Web GIS Plattform FGIS_online wurde auf Basis der map.apps-Technologie von con terra realisiert. Die hierauf erstellten Apps bieten neben Standardfunktionalitäten wie Geodatenvisualisierung, Kartendruck und Datensuche innerhalb der GDI Sachsen erweiterte Funktionen, wie z.B.:
  •      Anbindung der zentralen Nutzerverwaltung (ADS)
  •      Realisierung eines zentralen Kartenkatalogs
  •      Bereitstellung hierarchisch strukturierter Namensverzeichnisse
  •      Umsetzung eines Flächenverzeichnisses mit Anbindung an das  zentrale Sachinformationssystem
  •      Erfassung und Bearbeitung relevanter Geoinformationen
  •      flexible, zentrale Konfiguration der Auskunfts- und Erfas-sungslayer

Die Lösung basiert auf

  • map.apps
  • map.apps SDI
  • security.manager

Der Nutzen

Die Web GIS Plattform FGIS_online des Staatsbetriebes Sachsenforst ermöglicht die effiziente Umsetzung notwendiger Fach Apps zur Unterstützung der Mitarbeiter in den Forstbezirken, Revieren, in der Geschäftsleitung des Staatsbetriebes und im Ministerium bei ihren forstfachlichen Tätigkeiten sowie Arbeits- und Entscheidungsprozessen.

Erste Apps wurden bereits auf der neuen Plattform realisiert: So konnte eine allgemeine Web GIS App das bestehende Altsystem erfolgreich ablösen. Zudem führte eine neu erstellte Kalkungsplanungs-App bereits mit ihrem ersten Einsatz zu einer signifikanten Arbeitserleichterung.

Der Staatsbetrieb Sachsenforst hat mit der Web GIS-Plattform FGIS_online eine zukunftssichere Lösung geschaffen, die es ihm ermöglicht, moderne Ansätze der App-Erstellung und der Service-Orientierung für seine Zwecke zu nutzen.

Funktionen

  • Recherche und Visualisierung forstlich relevanter Daten
  • Bereitstellen und Druck von Karten
  • Schnelles Auffinden von forstlichen Geoobjekten mit Hilfe von Namensverzeichnissen
  • Integrierte Nutzerverwaltung
  • Landesweite Erfassung forstlicher Fachthemen
  • Abfrage von Bestandsinformationen aus der Betriebsdaten-bank
  • Hinzufügen weiterer Kartendienste

Zusammenfassung

Die Web GIS Plattform FGIS_online dient der effizienten Erstellung von fokussierten Apps zur Unterstützung der Aufgaben des Staatsbetriebes Sachsenforst. Dank der zugrunde liegenden map.apps-Technologie bietet sie ein Höchstmaß an Zukunftssicherheit. Erste Apps führten bereits zu einer signifikanten Arbeitserleichterung.

Kundenmeinung

"Die Flexibilität der neuen Web GIS Plattform FGIS-online hat sich bereits nachhaltig bewährt. Zeitnah und effizient konnten sowohl die Kalkungs-App, als auch die Web GIS App umgesetzt und in Betrieb genommen werden."

Beate Graichen, Referentin

FGIS/Kartographie/Vermessung, Staatsbetrieb Sachsenforst