Geopunt.be – The Flemish Geoportal



The Challenge

AGIV faced a two-fold challenge. As technical coordinator of the Flemish SDI, they had to build a geoportal infrastructure to fulfil the legal requirements of INSPIRE. However, AGIV also had a mandate beyond INSPIRE, to bring timely, complete and accurate certified data to government agencies, businesses and the general public. Following a tenet of the Flemish government, such data is often decentralised, meaning that data is managed at a level that is most efficient, and then shared over a network. The challenge was to bring all of these data and functional requirements together under one roof, creating a reusable framework for getting data and information to the end users that need it, via intuitive web applications, while hiding the complexity of the processes behind it.

The Customer

AGIV is the Geographical Information Agency for the Flanders region of Belgium. Together with its partners, AGIV develops the Flanders Geographical Data Infrastructure, by creating solutions that can be integrated for an efficient use of geographical information by governmental bodies, companies and the public.

Appointed under law by the Flemish Government as the technical coordinator and executive body of the Flanders Spatial Data Infrastructure, AGIV is responsible for delivering on the legal requirements of INSPIRE for the Flanders region.

www.agiv.be
www.geopunt.be

The Solution

Rather that creating separate solutions for each of their functional requirements, AGIV chose to create an over-arching application architecture to front-end their business and legal requirements. Through this framework, focussed apps have been created to deal with specific topics and workflows, ranging from classic INSPIRE requirements such as catalog searches, through apps for managing and informing about road works to apps for finding school and childcare facilities. Custom server-side processes have been developed by AGIV to address specific business requirements, which are then fronted by map.apps, a flexible, modular app framework architecture, meaning AGIV can build and deploy platform-independent apps at will to address the needs of their partners and customers.

The Basis

  • ArcGIS: Provides the core server-based GIS functionality and map services consumed by geopunt. 
  • Geonetwork: Provides the metadata catalog components of Geopunt.
  • map.apps: Provides the client framework under which multiple, single-purpose apps is presented under the federation of Geopunt.be.
  • Microsoft Azure Hosting: Geopunt is hosted on Azure. As a cloud-based solution, it scales to meet the demands of use.

Benefits

The portal focuses extensive data and services and brings them to a broad and diverse audience via a suite of applications. Citizens looking for a suitable map or a GIS coordinator or engineer wishing to perform an environmental study can all do so via a single entry point. The geo-portal enables use of geographical information accessible by public authorities, citizens, organizations and businesses, and meets the requirements of the European INSPIRE directive. Socially relevant geographic data and services are brought together in a smart and user-friendly manner and all components (metadata catalog, download application, e-commerce application, data and network services) are directly offered and seamlessly integrated.

The use of map.apps means that AGIV has implemented an enterprise system as a collection of single, focused, smart, easy-to-use and appealing apps, organized under a central operating platform that is easy to manage and can expand to meet future needs with ease.
“When looking for a solution to create a geoportal we soon found map.apps to be an answer to our needs. Geopunt has become a very convenient access point to geographical information for a broad range of users – from citizens to real GIS experts. The bundle approach has enabled us to change individual apps as well as common functionality. As such we can easily customize and fulfill customer expectations.”

Laura D’heer
Geopunt Productowner

Geopunt.be – Das Flämische Geoportal

Agiv Header

Agiv Logo

Die Herausforderung

AGIV stand vor einer doppelten Herausforderung: Als technischer Koordinator der flämischen GDI musste zum einen die Infrastruktur für ein Geoportal aufgebaut werden, die den gesetzlichen Anforderungen von INSPIRE genügt. Darüber hinaus sollten die Geodaten vollständig, zeitnah und qualitätsgesichert staatlichen Stellen, Unternehmen und der breiten Öffentlichkeit komfortabel zugänglich gemacht werden. Die flämische Regierung gab zudem vor, die oftmals dezentral abgelegten Daten auf einer Ebene zu verwalten, die eine effiziente Weitergabe über ein Netzwerk ermöglicht. Eine der größte Herausforderung bestand darin eine Struktur zu schaffen, auf deren Basis Daten und Informationen über intuitiv zu bedienende Anwendungen den unterschiedlichen Nutzern bereit gestellt werden können, ohne diese mit der dahinter liegenden Komplexität der Prozesse zu belasten.

Der Kunde

AGIV (Agentschap voor Geografische Informatie Vlaanderen) ist die zentrale Geographische Informationsagentur für die Region Flandern in Belgien. Zusammen mit ihren Partnern entwickelt AGIV die Geodateninfrastruktur (GDI) für Flandern. Hierfür werden Lösungen realisiert, die geografische Informationen in effizienter Weise staatlichen Stellen, Unternehmen und der Öffentlichkeit zur Nutzung bereitstellen. Im Auftrag der flämischen Regierung agiert AGIV als technischer Koordinator und Exekutivorgan der Flandrischen Geodateninfrastruktur. Dies geschieht im Einklang mit den Vorgaben der Richtlinie zur Schaffung einer Geodateninfrastruktur in der Europäischen Gemeinschaft INSPIRE.

www.agiv.be
www.geopunt.be

Die Lösung

Anstatt auf viele separate Lösungen zu setzen, entschied sich AGIV für eine übergreifende Applikationsarchitektur, um den Anforderungen rechtskonform und wirtschaftlich zu begegnen. Auf Basis eines zentral betriebenen Frameworks können fokussierte Apps für die spezifischen Aufgaben und Workflows einfach erstellt werden. Die realisierten Lösungen bedienen dabei ebenso klassische INSPIRE-Anforderungen, wie auch verwaltungsinterne Anwendungen oder Bürgerdienste, wie zum Beispiel Apps zur Recherche nach Schulen oder Kinderbetreuungseinrichtungen. Um die spezifischen Anforderungen möglichst zielgenau zu erfüllen, wurden die individuellen serverseitigen Prozesse von AGIV entwickelt und die Anwendungen auf Basis der flexiblen, modularen Framework-Architektur von map.apps erstellt. AGIV ist somit jederzeit in der Lage, individuelle, plattformunabhängige Anwendungen den Nutzern bereit zu stellen.

Die Basis

  • ArcGIS Bereitstellung von Kartendiensten und GIS-Funktionen.
  • Geonetwork Metadatenkatalog-Komponenten für Geopunt.
  • map.apps Client Framework für das Erstellen, Organisieren und Betreiben fokussierter Geo-Apps.
  • Microsoft Azure Skalierbare Cloud-Lösung für das Geopunt Hosting.

Der Nutzen

Geopunt.be bündelt umfangreiche Daten und Dienste und stellt sie einem breiten Publikum über fokussierte Anwendungen bereit. Es ist somit die zentrale Anlaufstelle sowohl für Bürger, die eine geeignete Karte suchen, als auch für einen GIS-Koordinator oder Ingenieur, der eine Umweltstudie erstellt. Das Geo-Portal ermöglicht zudem die INSPIRE-konforme Verwendung von geographischen Informationen für öffentlichen Stellen, Bürger, Organisationen und Unternehmen. Die gesellschaftlich relevanten Daten und Dienste werden hierfür auf intelligente und benutzerfreundliche Art und Weise zusammengeführt. Die Komponenten, wie Metadatenkatalog, Downloads, E-Commerce- Dienste oder Daten- und Netzwerkdienste, werden direkt angeboten und lassen sich nahtlos integrieren.

Auf Basis von map.apps hat AGIV ein zukunftssicheres Enterprise-System implementiert, das zur Erstellung individueller, fokussierter Apps dient und diese unter einer zentralen Betriebsplattform organisiert. Die Anwender profitieren von den einfach zu bedienenden Angeboten, die die Komplexität der Prozesse im Hintergrund halten.
Kundenmeinung
“Auf der Suche nach einer passenden Lösung für ein Geoportal, stießen wir schnell auf map.apps als Antwort auf unsere Anforderungen. Mit Geopunt bieten wir einen komfortablen Zugang für einen breiten Anwenderkreis – vom Bürger bis zum GIS-Experten. Das Baukastenprinzip ermöglicht es uns, sowohl einzelne Apps als auch gemeinsame Funktionen einfach zu ändern. So können wir Kundenanforderungen bestmöglich umsetzen.”

Laura D’heer
Geopunt Productowner