Stadt Karlsruhe

The Challenge

Three-dimensional city models are becoming increasingly important in a widening range of task areas within the city government. Their applications range from interactive inspections by way of realistic models to complex simulation calculations. The Property Register Department of the City of Karlsruhe decided back in 2002 to add three-dimensional data to its stock of digital spatial information.  

Since 2007, a full 3D building model containing details of roof forms has been in development at the city administration. The data exchange format selected for the 3D city model was CityGML, which moreover has been a standard OGC format since 2008. 

The Karlsruhe Property Register Department was faced with the task of finding an efficient and automated means of processing the 3D data it had collected and to transforming it into the CityGML format. At the same time, a solution was required that could be used to flexibly convert the data into other 3D formats.

The Customer

Karlsruhe 

Karlsruhe, once the capital of the state of Baden with its palatial residence, now a lively university city and home to the KIT technology centre. With its fan-like architectural layout, the city is a popular travel destination.

The municipal government of Karlsruhe is responsible for an urban area of 173 km², with 27 districts and a total population of approximately 300,000.

The city‘s Property Register Department (Liegenschaftsamt) is responsible for all matters related to land, real estate and housing, including buying and selling, land and forestry management, surveying and processing spatial information. This also extends to collecting and processing
3D data of the urban area. Since 2007, the department has been compiling a complete 3D model of the city of Karlsruhe.

www.karlsruhe.de

The Solution

The department employs FME spatial ETL technology for processing its 3D data. Using FME Desktop, the recorded building data is enriched and then converted into CityGML format: the initial data used in this process is building data in level-of-detail 2 (LoD 2) which was modelled in a CAD system, plus attribute and address information that is already available in Microsoft Excel and Esri Shape format.

The data is combined by means of a joint building key, enriched with semantic information, and finally converted into CityGML format.

The transformation process is implemented by means of an automated FME workflow. Once modelled, this FME process can be run repeatedly each time data is outputted or forwarded. User-dependent input parameters can be fed into the process in real time, in the form of so-called ‘published parameters‘. The city model of Karlsruhe, for instance, can be outputted in three different degrees of detail.

Using the FME Workbench, employees at the authority can perform their own data transformations into CityGML format with the aid of the workflow. If any other 3D data formats are required, it is possible to modify the process chain in the workbench: data sources (Reader), tools (Transformer) and results data (Writer) can be recombined using drag & drop.

Technology Used

  • FME Desktop

Benefits

By employing FME Desktop, the Property Register Department is now able to transfer 3D data it has collected quickly and efficiently into the CityGML format using a standardised workflow. The 3D building model database can be expanded continuously while maintaining constant quality. At the same time, the department has FME at its disposal as a basic technology for processing other 3D and spatial data.

Summary

  • FME Desktop for fast and efficient processing of 3D data
  • Continuous standardised expansion of the 3D city model
  • OGC standard CityGML format for exchanging data
  • Uniform, quality-assured database
  • Easy-to-operate user interface via FME Workbench
  • Standardised FME workflow
  • Flexible processing and transformation of 3D and spatial data

Customer comment

“The combination of CityGML and FME has allowed us to achieve optimum operation of the broad user spectrum of our 3D city model. We feel very well equipped for coping with future developments“.

Thomas Hauenstein
Property Register Department of the City of Karlsruhe

Erstellung von CityGML-Daten mit FME Desktop

(c) Stadt Karlsruhe

Die Aufgabe

Für die vielfältigen Aufgaben einer Stadtverwaltung gewinnen 3DStadtmodelle in zunehmendem Maße an Bedeutung. Ihr Einsatzbereich reicht von der interaktiven Begehung realitätsnaher Modelle bis hin zu komplexen Simulationsberechnungen. Das Liegenschaftsamt der Stadt Karlsruhe hat bereits im Jahr 2002 entschieden, sein Geodaten-Angebot für die städtischen Ämter um dreidimensionale Daten zu erweitern. 

Seit 2007 entsteht bei der Stadt ein flächendeckendes 3DGebäudemodell mit detaillierten Dachformen. Beim Datenaustauschformat für das 3D-Stadtmodell entschied sich die Stadt für CityGML, das seit 2008 OGC Standard ist.

Das Karlsruher Liegenschaftsamt stand vor der Aufgabe, die erfassten 3D-Daten effizient und automatisiert zu verarbeiten und in das CityGML-Format zu überführen. Gleichzeitig wurde nach einer Lösung gesucht, mit der die Daten flexibel in andere 3D-Formate transformiert werden können.

Der Kunde

Karlsruhe 

Karlsruhe – einst badische Residenz und Hauptstadt des Landes Baden – ist heute mit dem KIT ein Zentrum für Technologie, lebendige Universitätsstadt und als „Fächerstadt“ ein beliebtes Reiseziel.

Die Stadtverwaltung Karlsruhe ist zuständig für ein Stadtgebiet von 173 km², in dessen 27 Stadtteilen heute rund300.000 Einwohner leben.  

Das Liegenschaftsamt der Stadt ist zuständig für alle Dinge, die mit Grund und Boden sowie Wohnungswesen zu tun haben: Kauf, Verkauf, Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Vermessung sowie die Verarbeitung raumbezogener Informationen. Dazu zählt auch die Erhebung und Verarbeitung von 3D-Daten des Stadtgebiets. 

Seit 2007 erstellt das Amt ein flächendeckendes 3D-Stadtmodell der Stadt Karlsruhe.

www.karlsruhe.de

Die Lösung

Zur Verarbeitung seiner 3D-Daten setzt das Liegenschaftsamt auf die Spatial ETL-Technologie FME.
Mittels FME Desktop werden die erhobenen Gebäudedaten angereichert und anschließend in das CityGML-Format überführt: Ausgangsdaten für diesen Prozess sind Gebäudedaten im Level of Detail 2 (LoD 2), die in einem CAD-System modelliert wurden, sowie Sach- und Adressinformationen, die im Microsoft Excel- und Esri Shape Format vorliegen.
Diese Daten werden über einen gemeinsamen Gebäudeschlüssel kombiniert, um semantische Informationen angereichert und anschließend in das CityGML-Format überführt.

Der Transformationsprozess wird über einen automatisierten FMEWorkflow umgesetzt. Einmal modelliert, kann dieser FME Prozess bei jeder Daten-Ab- und Weitergabe wiederholt ausgeführt werden. Über sogenannte „Published Parameter“ können nutzerabhängige Eingabeparameter zur Laufzeit an den Prozess übergeben werden. Das Karlsruher Stadtmodell kann beispielsweise in drei verschiedenen Detaillierungsvarianten ausgegeben werden. 

Mitarbeiter der Behörde können mithilfe des Workflows eigenständig Datentransformationen in das CityGML-Format über die FME Workbench vornehmen. Werden andere 3D-Datenformate benötigt, kann die Prozesskette in der Workbench individuell angepasst werden: Datenquellen (Reader), Werkzeuge (Transformer) und Ergebnisdaten (Writer) können per Drag & Drop neu kombiniert werden. 

Eingesetzte Technologie

  • FME Desktop

Der Nutzen

Mit dem Einsatz von FME Desktop ist das Liegenschaftsamt in der Lage, erfasste 3D-Daten über einen standardisierten Workflow schnell und effektiv in das CityGML-Format zu überführen. Die Datenbasis für das 3D-Gebäudemodell kann kontinuierlich und in gleichbleibender Qualität ausgebaut werden. Gleichzeitig steht FME der Behörde als Basistechnologie zur Verarbeitung anderer 3D- und räumlicher Daten zur Verfügung.

Zusammenfassung

  • FME Desktop für effiziente und schnelle Verarbeitung von 3D-Daten
  • Kontinuierliche und standardisierte Erweiterung des 3DStadtmodells
  • OGC-Standard CityGML als Datenaustauschformat
  • Qualitätsgesicherte, einheitliche Datenbasis
  • Einfach zu bedienende Oberfläche über die FME Workbench
  • Standardisierter FME-Workflow
  • Flexible Bearbeitung und Transformation von 3D- und räumlichen Daten

Kundenmeinung

„Durch die Kombination von CityGML und FME erreichen wir eine optimale Bedienung des breiten Anwendungsspektrums unseres 3D-Stadtmodells und sehen uns für zukünftige Entwicklungen sehr gut gerüstet.“

Thomas Hauenstein
Liegenschaftsamt Stadt Karlsruhe